I Love Martha

Standard

And before you start judging and rolling your eyes, let me explain why. She expects without judgement. Here, I will prove it to you.

I guess I have always been a Martha fan. When I was 21 years old and poor (no cable, only 4 channels) Martha was on Saturday mornings. Before bowling, golf and all those other incredibly boring sports would come on. So, I loved Martha out of necessity. There was something about the way she was so confident that everyone watching would really love to make a wreath out of wine corks that  kept me riveted. Her very helpful hints like storing your gardening tools in sand to keep them from rusting and how to make buttermilk from scratch did nothing to make me a domestic diva, but was far more interesting than golf.

I wasn’t obsessed. I didn’t insist on making sure I was in front of the tv, no distractions at 9 am on a saturday morning when Martha came on. Just if I happened to be up or not headed off to class, then I throughly enjoyed her show. She wasn’t the big deal she is today. Not very many people knew of her. She didn’t have her own line of products, she wasn’t friends with Snoop Dog, and she hadn’t been to jail. She was not the cultural icon she is today. But she was just as confident as she is today. More so, I would assume. That woman has drive. She knows what she wants and how she wants it and she is not afraid to do it herself. Isn’t that a positive way to be in this world?

How many celebrities do we see who climb the ladder of success and then turn into lazy, vain, ignorant people. Not Martha. She is still gardening, painting, cooking, entertaining just like she always did. The fact that she has such a wide circle of friends, who include politicians, rock stars, movie stars and no bodies says alot for her acceptance of the human race. Everyone thinks she is about being perfect. I don’t see it. I see her striving for perfection, for doing things the right way rather than the half assed way. I don’t ever see her making excuses. She just does what is expected of her. And everyone else whines about what is expected of them. I really admire that about her. She doesn’t slack. And she just assumes that the rest of us are like her. That we don’t slack. That we want to put in that extra added effort so that another person in this world will feel special.

Most of us don’t want to put in any extra effort into anything and when we feel pressured to do so we rebel and bitch about it. It’s not Martha, it’s us. She isn’t out there to make us feel bad about ourselves, we do that all on our own. She is out there saying that this is how it should be done and she accepts that we all want to do it the way it should be done. WE are the ones who say no. WE are the ones who resort to name calling and finger pointing. Not her. She doesn’t start it, WE do. By “we” I mean you because I do love Martha. I don’t agree with everything she says or has done, obviously. I love her but she isn’t a God. I respect and admire her. And my guess is you do too. If we can stop feeling inferior and judgmental and just see what this world has to offer and try, just make an attempt, to live up to an expectation, even if we fail miserably, we will have made this world a better place to be in.

So, in the end, it is bigger than Martha. But it can begin with Martha. Open your mind and then your heart. It’s a good thing.

About sparklingbytheway

I am a single mother to three girls. I live in a very small village and I teach dance in another very small village that is on the oppisite side of the medium sized city. This blog is about my life, past, present and future. My opinions, my thoughts, my ideas. I love to read other people's experience, strength and hope and so now I will share a little bit of my own. I love to laugh and make others laugh. I swear and I can't spell for shit but I never intend to offend!!!

2 responses »

  1. Yes, I agree. I understand she started out a wealthy woman, and of course stellar homemaking and entertaining are in your grasp then. But I always felt it was more than that, that she was someone who loved good quality, who thought homemade was special, who believed that showing effort to your guests made them feel important. And wealthy or not, she parlayed those philosophies brilliantly into an empire.

    And Martha doesn’t tell me my house isn’t clean enough, I tell myself that. She’s just my model of what it can be when I can find the time and energy, and I don’t resent her for doing that.

    And thank you for your visit and comment! I appreciate it muchly!

Leave a Reply

