I’m throwin up my baby bumble bee….

Standard

I don't know this kid but I am certain he is the reason I have used up 3 boxes of tissue...

Why, when we get sick, do we look around for someone to blame? When we get a cold, or our kids get lice, we immediately have to point the finger at someone else for “giving” us this horrid affliction. Like that’s gonna help. Like once we find the culprit we will automatically be well. But that’s not how it works is it? Generally, we become resentful of the person we believe “gave” us the bug. And what does that do but make us sicker? And the truth is, nothing is original.

The evil- bug- passing- person got it from somewhere. They didn’t concoct a virus in their home lab than infect themselves then sneeze on us intentionally. They were “given” the nasties by someone else. Might have been the snot nosed kid who confesses to throwing up all night AFTER they licked your cheek. Might have been the snot nosed teen who wiped his nose then grabbed the door handle that you grabbed 5 minutes later. Might have been the old guy who still uses a handkerchief and then uses the grocery cart before you. Our bodies sometimes get sick. Does it really matter where the sickness comes from?

Being a part of the human race means that sometimes we will get sick. We will catch a bug or come down with an infection and it really is nobody’s fault. And sussing out the source does not a thing to make us well-er. But yet, we seem to take some pleasure in knowing where our  coughing, aching, stuffy head, runny nose, fever, puking, diarrhea came from. It must have been the kid at work, or the guy who’s cough I walked into at the zoo, or the cashier at the bagel shop. Damn it!!! If everyone would just go into quarantine every time they thought they might be coming down with something then I would stay well! Don’t they understand how important my life is and how badly I hate being sick? Being sick might be fine for other people, but I HATE it. How inconsiderate!!

We, as a race, are fascinated with our bodies and specifically how they malfunction. How many tv shows are there about our bodies and the mystery that is illness? Even books, magazines, broadway musicals, film strips, photographs and paintings capture illness is its many forms. Getting sick is a sure sign you are not an alien from outer space (not from another country…those aliens are also human and get sick just like the rest of us…good to know).

I was very sick last summer. I was in the Bronx at the start of the Swine Flu epidemic. I remember the guy who sneezed in front of me and less than a week later I was in the hospital with the worst case of pneumonia ever seen in the middle of the summer in a 36-year-old healthy woman. I’m not exaggerating when I say I almost died. If the antibiotics hadn’t kicked in, I wouldn’t be here to blog these silly, unending, really important thoughts. Don’t you feel lucky? I know I do….anyway, when I finally started transitioning back into the world after a week in the hospital (in isolation cause of the Swine Flu scare) I was catching alot of blame for being sick.

Almost everyone asked what I was going to do differently now so as not to get that sick again. As if my catching the flu and then it evolving into a double pneumonia was somehow something I did to myself. Like I was not taking care of myself. It began to piss me off! I didn’t ask to get sick. I caught a bug. It happens. What could I do differently? I guess, never leave my house, or better yet, live in a bubble like the bubble boy? But even he died eventually. So, how well did that work out? I know, I know, special circumstances….

So, I guess what my fever ridden brain is trying to express is blame has never made anyone feel better. All we can do is take sensible precautions as far as transmitting illness goes. But when someone gets sick, it isn’t necessary to place blame. No matter how much satisfaction we derive from being right. If you are a human being in this world, you will catch a bug, you will get sick and God willing you will get over it. Medicine and doctors have something to do with it also I think.

Think about the bigger picture, be grateful for what you do have, even when you are sick. It’s nobody’s fault, it’s everbody’s responsibility. And as I sit here with strep throat I will not blame anyone, except the republicans who are holding up healthcare reform which means I can’t go to the doctors. But look at me being grateful for black market antibiotcis…Just kidding…had to get that dig in!!

Ok, off to throw up and doze off to Harry Potter #3. Stay well!!

About sparklingbytheway

I am a single mother to three girls. I live in a very small village and I teach dance in another very small village that is on the oppisite side of the medium sized city. This blog is about my life, past, present and future. My opinions, my thoughts, my ideas. I love to read other people's experience, strength and hope and so now I will share a little bit of my own. I love to laugh and make others laugh. I swear and I can't spell for shit but I never intend to offend!!!

Leave a Reply

