The Day After Japan

Standard

I guess they didn't hear that NO ONE fishes in that area...or maybe the idea of three headed fish really appeals to them...

Japan had an earthquake, then a tsunami and now a nuclear meltdown. Really, in the grande scheme of things, does it get any worse? I mean, that is both mother nature AND man made disasters happening simultaneously. How can they possibly rebound from losing over 20,000 (at last count…still counting) people. Think about that, we lost over 3000 on 9/11 and almost everyone in our country knew someone who knew someone who was connected to the tragedy. Losing 20,000 means everyone lost someone they knew personally.

Ok, so, there are the deaths that have already occurred from the tsunami. They did the best they could with that. They were as prepared as they could be and it could have been worse if it had happened in a less developed country. But we are talking about Japan here. They are a first world country. They are just like us only geographically smaller and arguably  more technologically advanced.

Now, their nuclear reactors are in crisis. They have been since the earthquake. And sure, we can stand around debating the wisdom of building nuclear power plants on a fault line, but what’s the point? Radio active material is spilling into the oceans and poisoning people as we speak. I can’t say if Japan’s government has handled this catastrophe in the best possible way because I truly don’t know. I am not judging. I am simply saying that we are a global community and what happens in Japan does not stay in Japan.

It is silly to think so. I hear conflicting reports daily about the level of disaster. Yesterday, we were all going to die. Today, not so much. Yesterday, they were going to try to restore power to the reactors to get them cooling as they are supposed to. Today, they are going to pour concrete over 4 of them because the leakage of nuclear waste has reached unheard of levels and is leaking into the ground and the ocean. But that is apparently “ok” because no one fishes in that part of  the ocean anyway…I guess the fish don’t swim out of their confined area and the water also just stays put. Pretty strange ocean…I bet that is where Godzilla lives.

I get the feeling that someone is not being completely honest about this nuclear event. Granted, I am not a researcher or any kind of expert or even a B movie buff (which is where alot of our knowledge and fear come from in regards to radiation). I am just a 38 year old who lives a couple hours drive from Three Mile Island, was raised during the Cold War, who remembers Chernobyl, and who watched The Day After in elementary school. I understand that nuclear energy is a very, VERY scary energy. And now, we are all supposed to pretend that Japan’s nuclear meltdown is not that big a deal??? We are supposed to believe that radiation burns to the skin of workers at the Fukushima Daiichi plant are not that bad and will NOT lead to any long term health effects??? That evacuating people in a 12 MILE RADIUS from the plant will keep them safe??? I don’t believe it.

The woods and animals and even insects around Chernobyl have recovered. It looks normal 25 years later.Personally, I think that is the earth healing itself. Humans, on the other hand, are still suffering the consequences. Deformed babies and high cancer rates. Is this just something we are supposed to accept as a price for having nuclear energy? I don’t accept it. I don’t believe it. We are advanced and intelligent, there is NO reason to continue to rely on energies that kill people. I know that overall, the life lost doesn’t compare with the lives saved or sustained by the energy, at least that is the argument. I think we are more advanced than that. I hope we are more universal than that. We know better, we can do better. What’s it going to take? Haven’t we had plenty of close calls? Lives lost, environment impacted negatively, damaged futures and economys. It’s time, really it is. We have options, choices. We need to get over being spoiled, selfish, single minded bullies and be a worldwide community with respect for nature and ourselves.

Our parents and grandparents were worried about polluting the world for us when we were kids. We don’t have to worry about destroying the world for our kids, we are destroying it for ourselves. There will be no future generations to keep it clean for. There will be no earth.

 I am not big on conspiracy theories or drama or even corrupt governments and corporations. I am just a mom who watches basic national news sources and has lives through the 1980’s nuclear crises. So, if I can see the impending dangers and destruction that our own actions, in combination with nature’s natural forces, are bringing, why can’t the smart people who rule the world see it too? What is it going to take? A 200 foot lizard rising out of a nuclear waste of ocean to get our attention? Let’s hope the radiation made it to the Bronx Zoo and that cobra on the loose gets a dose and is ready to fight. Otherwise we are all screwed.

About sparklingbytheway

I am a single mother to three girls. I live in a very small village and I teach dance in another very small village that is on the oppisite side of the medium sized city. This blog is about my life, past, present and future. My opinions, my thoughts, my ideas. I love to read other people's experience, strength and hope and so now I will share a little bit of my own. I love to laugh and make others laugh. I swear and I can't spell for shit but I never intend to offend!!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

