Dear Diary, Day of Well, You Decide

Standard
I can take all the pictures I want but if my car wants to hide, I'm not going to be able to find it.

I can take all the pictures I want but if my car wants to hide, I’m not going to be able to find it.

Yesterday I had a date. We decided to meet on The Hill. Our local University area. I haven’t been on The Hill in many, many years. I did my teenage angst on The Hill. So many friends from back then are just gone to the abyss that is my memory. A few died and quite a few are still here, like in this world, not here at my house.

I decided to park in the parking garage rather than drive around opening up myself to the flood of memories that were sure to come. Now, among my many other quirks, is my recent habit of losing my car. I’ve tried all the tricks to remember where I park (I don’t remember what tricks I have tried so don’t quiz me). So, yesterday, being nervous about my date and nervous about being on The Hill I thought I should be really smart and take a picture of the sign just above where I parked. Took a deep breath and walked out into my youth. Everything looks very different but extremely the same.

There’s The Beach but no one is sitting there, smoking, waiting, fucking off. There’s the mexican restaurant but it’s bigger and no one is throwing up out front. There’s where the record store used to be…no music. There’s Chucks. No one is playing hackey sack outside waiting to go inside and play pool. No one was here except college students…and my date!!

So, we went to the old pizza shop where everyone wanted to work when we were kids. The pizza is all fancy now…and really very good. The date went swimmingly. A bit like being on a date with an old friend who was all grown up now. Very nice. We left and walked by the shoe store and where the Baskin and Robbins used to be. Although it was a beautiful day there were no skaters, no smokers, no one seemed drunk or loud. And no one was yelling about doing a back flip for a quarter.  The bittersweetness was overwhelming. I don’t do well with nostalgia.

So, here we are, I have to go to get the kids and stuff. He walks me to my car, which should not be a complicated thing. But this is me, Queen of Bad Decisions and Lost Cars. I remembered I parked in the garage, I was pretty proud of myself for that one. I remembered I was on the purple level 5. Up 6 flights because I am bad at math, down one flight and there begins The Great car Search 2014. I was using my car honking button and we would think we knew where it was and off we would go in that direction. Nope. Not there. Try again, back the other way. Nope. Do it again, off this way. Um, no. Again, follow me! Aaaaa no. 10 minutes jumping between levels and searching between cars. Listening, walking, nothing. Personally, I thought this was hysterical. I mean come on. Who does this? Well, yeah, I do and we know that but this is the first date with this guy. I can only imagine what was going on in his mind. Had I known him better I would have had a total break down and just tried to get in a car that looked like mine. But I was trying to hold it together.

He was a very good sport. We finally found the car. Really, I thought the lost car part was really really funny. Not because I lost my car, that happens all the time. But because I lost my car on a first date with this guy who doesn’t really know me and my bff’s words of “just don’t be crazy” were ringing in my ears. I try, but I am who I am even though I don’t eat spinach. But he hung tough. I give him props for not just ditching me and running away down the exit ramp.

There’s more to the story but I’m not going to tell you. Bunch of perverts you are. Came home, dog, kid, sleep. I had to email by bestie because I needed to share the experience of going home, but not really ever being able to go home. Oh and how I’m probably going to die alone, feet from my lost car someday…

I have issues with going thru doors

I’m so glad I’m not in Guatemala right now.

It's like....the same...but different...but kinda the same....

It’s like….the same…but different…but kinda the same….

.

About sparklingbytheway

I am a single mother to three girls. I live in a very small village and I teach dance in another very small village that is on the oppisite side of the medium sized city. This blog is about my life, past, present and future. My opinions, my thoughts, my ideas. I love to read other people's experience, strength and hope and so now I will share a little bit of my own. I love to laugh and make others laugh. I swear and I can't spell for shit but I never intend to offend!!!

Leave a Reply

